Black supermoon 2019 to appear night sky – when and where to see rare new moon

0
25


Stargazers will be treated to a rare lunar phenomenon tonight, known as a “black” supermoon.

The eerie phenomenon will make the skies appear moonless.

This is due to the fact the new moon, the moon and sun will have the same elliptical longitude – meaning the lunar disk will not be visible from Earth.

This is the perfect opportunity to stargaze – so make sure you mark it in your diary and get your telescope ready.

Here is everything you need to know about the Black Supermoon 2019.

Black supermoon 2019 when where see rare new moon

Black supermoon 2019 to appear night sky – when and where to see rare new moon (Pic: GETTY)

What is a Black Supermoon?

A black moon is simply the name given to the second new moon of a month – which is a rare phenomenon.

Usually we will have a full moon every 29 days, but our months are slightly longer than that.

So about every 32 months we will get two full moons or two new moons.

The second full moon in a month is called a blue moon, but when it is a new moon it is called a black moon.

A black moon can also be used to describe a month where there are no new moons – which is only possible in February because there are fewer days.

So a black moon is technically no different to a normal new moon – but this one will be extra special.

July’s Black moon will also be a supermoon, which occurs when it is at its nearest point to Earth.

When this happens the moon appears larger in the night sky.

A new moon does not emit its own light, most of it can’t usually be seen by the naked eye.

Black supermoon 2019 when where see rare new moon

Black supermoon 2019: You can’t see the whole moon will the naked eye (Pic: GETTY)

When and where to see the black supermoon:

Unfortunately for those in the UK, they won’t be able to see the black supermoon.

It will only be viewable for stargazers in the US.

But for those lucky enough to catch a glimpse of it, the black supermoon will occur tonight, July 31.

Black supermoon 2019 when where see rare new moon

Black supermoon 2019: It will occur tonight, on July 31 (Pic: GETTY)

These are the times you can see the black supermoon in North America:

• 11.12pm EDT

• 10.12pm CDT

• 9.12pm MDT

• 8.12pm PDT

But Brits won’t have to wait long until they can see a black moon.

The next one is scheduled to take place on August 30 – and that one will be visible in the UK.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here