BREAKING: Debenhams to SHUT 22 stores – full list of closures revealed


BRIT department store chain Debenhams has announced it is closing 22 stores across the UK.

(Pic: GETTY)

The major High Street retailer is shutting the stores as part of a dramatic rescue plan, putting 1,200 jobs at risk.

Debenhams is rolling out the closures as part of the controversial Company Voluntary Arrangement (CVA).

This is an insolvency procedure – aimed at rescuing struggling chains – that sees debts restructured and stores closed.

It comes just weeks after it collapsed into administration before being bought out by its lenders.

The full list of 22 stores set to close, should the CVA be approved by enough creditors, are:

  • Altrincham
  • Ashford
  • Birmingham Fort
  • Canterbury
  • Chatham
  • Eastbourne
  • Folkestone
  • Great Yarmouth
  • Guildford
  • Kirkcaldy
  • Orpington
  • Slough
  • Southport
  • Southsea
  • Staines
  • Stockton
  • Walton
  • Wandsworth
  • Welwyn Garden City
  • Wimbledon
  • Witney
  • Wolverhampton

The stores are set to close after Christmas, with Debenhams also planning to close another 30 stores – making a total of 50 – within three years.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here